Side A: George W. Campbell originally built this highly picturesque structure in 1854. Designed with Romanesque and Norman Revival architectural features – a round tower, arched windows and doorways – and constructed of locally mined blue limestone, the home is representative of the work of architect W. Russell West. Campbell, a nationally eminent horticulturist, had a small vineyard to the east of the house where he developed and improved a variety of fruits, most notably the world famous Delaware Grape. Following Campbell’s death in 1898, the house was sold to Dr. Aaron J. Lyons and Mrs. Abbie Parish and presented to Ohio Wesleyan University, serving for more than 70 years as Lyons Art Hall.
Sponsors: Ohio Bicentennial Commission, The Longaberger Company, Delaware County Cultural Arts Center, William H. Eells, and The Ohio Historical Society