Remarkable Ohio


Below is a complete listing of all Ohio Historical Markers. To find a detailed marker listing including text, photographs, and locations, click on a county below. Our listing is updated by the markers program as new markers are installed and older markers are reported damaged or missing.

ALERT: There are two markers numbered 6-84 in Washington County. The other is 'Bathsheba Rouse.'

6-84 C. William O’Neill (1916-1978)

Side A: Ohio’s fifty-ninth governor, Marietta native C. William O’Neill was the only Ohioan to head all three branches of state government. An honor graduate of both Marietta High School and Marietta College, O’Neill won election to the Ohio House of Representatives in 1938, serving there until 1950 but interrupted from 1943-1946 when he was with General George Patton’s Third Army in Europe during World War II. In 1947 he became the youngest Speaker of the House in Ohio history. Elected Attorney General in 1950, he won the governorship in 1956, modernizing the highway and mental health departments during his tenure. His election to the State Supreme Court in 1960 and elevation to Chief Justice in 1970, noted by landmark judicial reforms, capped his exemplary career of public service to Ohio.
Side B: Same
Sponsors: Ohio Bicentennial Commission, The Longaberger Company, Rotary Club of Marietta, and The Ohio Historical Society
Address: 333 4th Street, 
Location: O’Neil Center, SW corner of 4th street and Scammel Street
Latitude: 39.4187570
Longitude: -81.4538730