Remarkable Ohio


Below is a complete listing of all Ohio Historical Markers. To find a detailed marker listing including text, photographs, and locations, click on a county below. Our listing is updated by the markers program as new markers are installed and older markers are reported damaged or missing.

1-44 The Hanging Rock Iron Region / The Blast Furnaces of Lawrence County

Side A: To furnish the needs of the early settlers, then to furnish ordnance for a nation at war, and finally to furnish merchant iron to the steel mills, 100 iron producing blast furnaces were built within these 1,800 square miles of the lower coal measures to become known as the Hanging Rock Region. Lawrence County, centrally located within the Region, had 23 blast furnaces constructed between 1826 and 1909.
Side B: 1. Union 2. Pine Grove 3. Aetna 4. Vesuvius 5. Buckhorn 6. Mt. Vernon 7. Hecla 8. Lawrence 9. La Grange 10. Centre 11. Olive 12. Washington 13. Oak Ridge 14. Pioneer 15. Monitor 16. Belfont 17. Grant 18. Etna-Alice 19. Etna-Blanche 20. Maggie 21. Sarah 22. Hamilton 23. Ironton
Sponsors: The Lawrence County Historical Society and The Ohio Historical Society
Address: Lawrence County Courthouse, 111 S. 4th Street, 
Location: NE corner of Park Avenue and S 4th Street
Latitude: 38.5355490
Longitude: -82.6837290