Side A: The Village of Genoa and Clay Township agreed to construct a joint township and village hall in Genoa in 1884. The firm Findley & Shively of Fremont designed the hall in the High Victorian Gothic architectural style and Woodville’s Fred Sandwisch was contracted to build the hall for $8,860. In 1890, the Sandusky Register declared that Genoa could “boast of having one of the finest town halls of any village of its size in Ohio.” As a seat of government and an auditorium (“opera house”), the hall hosted village and township meetings, Memorial Day services, school graduations, community events, and theatrical productions. The hall also had a jail and served as a municipal garage. By early 1970s, the auditorium had been condemned and the future of the structure was uncertain. (Continued on other side)
Side B: (Continued from other side) Agnes “Tomme” Bergman (1918-2001) and the Genoa Federation of Clubs led an effort to save and revitalize the building. It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976 and renovation work was completed in 1979, supported by a $755,000 federal Economic Development Administration grant.