, OH
The Greater Abyssinia Baptist Church (GABC) organized with 250 members on December 16, 1945, at a Phillis Wheatley Association meeting. Led by its first pastor, Rev. John Rollins Plummer, the congregation raised $47,000 to purchase the Jewish Synagogue at East 105th Street and Tacoma Avenue from the Beth Hamedrosh Hagodel Beth Israel Congregation in 1946. It later purchased a parsonage, land for parking, and created a Federal Credit Union. Tragically, Rev. Plummer was killed in a car accident on October 22, 1951. The church’s lower auditorium was remodeled and dedicated as J.R. Plummer Memorial Hall. Honoring its missionary and pastoral care foundations, the church built a $3M senior citizens complex nearby. An endowment fund, instituted by its pastor’s savings in 1995, ensures that this commitment to civic leadership endures.
, OH
The Central Avenue Public Bath House was designed by Frederic Betz, the City of Cleveland’s first appointed architect. Opened in February 1920, it served the Black population in the congested Central neighborhood. The brick building featured symmetrical windows and entrances at either end that led into men’s and women’s waiting rooms and individual shower rooms. Larger group showers for children were in the basement. The second floor featured club rooms as well as a physician’s room and a nurse’s room. In 1926, a swimming pool and gymnasium were added. In 1940, as the need for public bathing facilities waned, Central Avenue Public Bath House was converted into a recreation center. One of Cleveland’s five remaining Bath Houses, Central Avenue stands as a manifestation of the city’s commitment to the health and welfare of its citizens.