Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker
[ stop the slideshow ]

2-58 Brick Church

62_9359.jpg Thumbnails2-58 Brick CemeteryThumbnails2-58 Brick CemeteryThumbnails2-58 Brick Cemetery

Side A: Brick Church and Cemetery. The Windsor Township Baptist Association was organized January 11, 1818 by Elder William Davis with 35 members who met in homes, barns and schoolhouses. At the death of the six-year-old granddaughter of Samuel and Tabitha Davis Henery, this plot by the river was laid out of a church yard and deeded by John Henery in 1837. In 1838 a brick church was built at the cost of $1,000. It served this community until the road and church were destroyed by the flood of 1913. More than 50 men from this area served in the Civil War. Twenty-six War of 1812 veterans are buried here as well as William Davis, veteran of the American Revolution; Obadiah Brokaw, founder of Big Bottom State Memorial; and Captain Isaac Newton Hook, river pilot at the age of ten and U.S. master of inland navigation, 1860-1873, who ran supplies on the Tennessee and Cumberland rivers for the Union Army. At Captain Hook's death in 1906, the steamers Valley Gem, Zanesville, and Sonoma from Marietta in his honor landed passengers at the church here for his funeral, "largest ever held in the Muskingum Valley." "The Lord and the River giveth and then taketh away." Side B: Same. Same