Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker
[ stop the slideshow ]

18-53 Fairgrounds Marker

1069_108449.jpg Thumbnails18-53 The marker from the road, outside the fairgroundsThumbnails18-53 The marker from the road, outside the fairgroundsThumbnails18-53 The marker from the road, outside the fairgrounds

Side A: Meigs County Fairgrounds. Situated in an agriculturally rich area, county fairs have long been a significant tradition and event in Meigs County. The Meigs County Agricultural Society held its first fair on October 22, 1851, in Middleport and its second at the Rock-Spring Hotel on October 31, 1852. Subsequent fairs occurred around the county until March 14, 1868, when the first section of a permanent location was purchased from Leonard and Jane Carleton near Rock Springs and became known as the Meigs County Fairgrounds. A popular place, the nearby natural springs, exemplified by the historic stone-carved springhouse, once supplied water to the grounds and community. Improvements to the fairgrounds included expanding the one-third mile racetrack to a half-mile in 1889, constructing the unique curved grandstand in 1890, and reconstructing the 1829 Foster-Jenkinson log cabin on the grounds in 1987. A single barrack from the Civilian Conservation Corps camp of the 1930s remains in use. Side B: Same. Same