Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Belmont County / 17-7 Governor Arthur St. Clair - 1734-1818 [3]

Title, side A
Governor Arthur St. Clair - 1734-1818
Text, side A
Born in Scotland. From 1787-1802, was first governor of the Northwest Territory, which included Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and part of Minnesota. St. Clair established territorial court system and Ohio's first nine counties, including Belmont in 1801 and named St. Clairsville its county seat. St. Clair's promotion to major general in 1777 recognized his exemplary service to Washington in New Jersey during American victories at the battles of Trenton and Princeton. St. Clair was a delegate to Congress under Articles of Confederation in 1786 and in 1787 was its president when it adopted the Northwest Ordinance and authorized the convention that wrote the U.S. Constitution. His 1791 attempt to break Indian resistance to American settlement in the Ohio Country ended in bitter defeat. A Federalist, St. Clair disagreed with Jeffersonian-Republicans over the timing of Ohio statehood. This led to his dismissal as governor after 15 years in office.
100 W Main St
St. Clairsville, OH 43950
Belmont County Courthouse
Latitude: 40.0805260, Longitude: -80.9010860.
Google map: