ALERT: There are two markers numbered 110-18 in Cuyahoga County. The other is 'West Side Market.'
- Title, side A
- Henninger Homestead
- Text, side A
- The Henninger Homestead was founded in an era when local quarries provided raw materials for the construction of the Ohio and Erie Canal. Bavarian immigrants Philip and Sophia Henninger came to Parma Township in 1840. Although Philip was a skilled tinsmith, he soon established a quarry on his property to supply sandstone for the breakwall of Cleveland's harbor in Lake Erie, canal locks, and other building projects. In 1849, the Henningers replaced their log home with this Greek Revival house using stone from their quarry. Blocks at its base measure 30" thick while upper walls are 14" thick. Abandoned in 1988, the site was saved from demolition in 2003. The house and nearby carriage barn stand as the oldest buildings in the City of Parma.
- WEST CREEK CONSERVENCY OHIO HISTORICAL SOCIETY
- 5757 Broadview Road
Parma, OH 44134
- Henninger Homestead State Historical Site