Front Text: Cemetery vaults were used to store bodies in winter when the ground was too frozen to break manually. Locust Grove's vault was constructed of locally quarried sandstone in 1872. The interior showcases the mason's skills: the walls are smooth and the ceiling is arched. Tools, markers, and cemetery supplies replaced bodies after it became possible to break frozen ground with mechanical excavating equipment. In 1997, the 138-ton vault was moved approximately twenty-five feet northwest from its original location to make way for land development. Ethan Alling established Locust Grove Cemetery in 1846. Back Text: SameAddress: East Aurora Road, Twinsburg
Location: On the road leading to the cemetery. Entrance is a gated road going S from E Aurora Rd a little E of Church St.