Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Morgan County / 9-58 Morgan County [4]

Title, side A
Morgan County
Text, side A
Morgan County was created in 1817 from parts of Washington, Muskingum, and Guernsey counties, with McConnelsville established as the seat of government. The first courthouse, a square brick structure, was built here in 1820. Its foundation stones form part of the wall surrounding the lawn. The present courthouse building was completed in 1858 at a cost of $10,000. This Greek Revival-style structure has had several major renovations since. The clock tower was added in 1886, and the building was enlarged and modernized in 1960.
19 E. Main Street
McConnelsville, OH 43756
In front of courthouse, NE corner of Main Street and Kennebec Avenue
Latitude: 39.6489840, Longitude: -81.8530090.
Google map: