Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Meigs County / 53-18 Meigs County Fairgrounds [2]

ALERT: This marker was inadvertently given a non-Meigs County number, 53-18.

Title, side A
Meigs County Fairgrounds
Text, side A
Situated in an agriculturally rich area, county fairs have long been a significant tradition and event in Meigs County. The Meigs County Agricultural Society held its first fair on October 22, 1851, in Middleport and its second at the Rock-Spring Hotel on October 31, 1852. Subsequent fairs occurred around the county until March 14, 1868, when the first section of a permanent location was purchased from Leonard and Jane Carleton near Rock Springs and became known as the Meigs County Fairgrounds. A popular place, the nearby natural springs, exemplified by the historic stone-carved springhouse, once supplied water to the grounds and community. Improvements to the fairgrounds included expanding the one-third mile racetrack to a half-mile in 1889, constructing the unique curved grandstand in 1890, and reconstructing the 1829 Foster-Jenkinson log cabin on the grounds in 1987. A single barrack from the Civilian Conservation Corps camp of the 1930s remains in use.
Address
Meigs County Fairgrounds
Rocksprings, OH 45769
Location
Next to log cabin along the Fairgrounds Rd/County Road 51A side. Fairground gates may be locked.
Coordinates
Latitude: 39.0599380, Longitude: -82.0134830.
Google map: