Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker
[ stop the slideshow ]

20-50 Canfield War Vet Museum

106023_109340.jpg Thumbnails20-50 The SettingThumbnails20-50 The SettingThumbnails20-50 The SettingThumbnails20-50 The Setting

Side A: Canfield War Vet Museum. The Canfield War Vet Museum was chartered in 1988 by American Legion Post 177 and Ladies Auxiliary to collect and preserve items and history from American wars. The building that houses the museum was built in 1809 by Comfort S. Mygatt, a Revolutionary War veteran, and later, passed through several generations of the Church family. Colonel James Madison Nash, a Civil War officer, lived here for a time, giving the house its nickname, "The Colonel's House." The structure stands as the oldest building in Canfield on its original site. The carding barn on the rear of the property was built in 1810 to process sheep wool. The Wall of Honor at this site honors war veterans, in particular, the Revolutionary War veterans interred in Canfield cemeteries and the 18 Canfield men who lost their lives in World War II. Side B: Same. Same