Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Hocking County / 4-37 Historic Haydenville [12]

  • 4-37 Looking north on Haydenville Road 4-37 Looking north on Haydenville Road
  • 4-37 The Marker 4-37 The Marker
  • 4-37 The Marker in front of the Haydenville Preservation Committee Museuem 4-37 The Marker in front of the Haydenville Preservation Committee Museuem
  • 4-37 Tile incorporated into the front of the house 4-37 Tile incorporated into the front of the house
  • 4-37 Tile also used in the construction of this house 4-37 Tile also used in the construction of this house
  • 4-37 Company houses on the westside of Haydenville Road 4-37 Company houses on the westside of Haydenville Road
  • 4-37 The eastside of Haydenville Road 4-37 The eastside of Haydenville Road
  • 4-37 Historic Haydenville (side A) 4-37 Historic Haydenville (side A)
  • 4-37 Haydenville Historic District (side B) 4-37 Haydenville Historic District (side B)
  • 4-37 Marker Site 4-37 Marker Site
  • 4-37 Marker, Side B, now located at the Haydenville Park 4-37 Marker, Side B, now located at the Haydenville Park
  • 4-37 Haydenville, Ohio 4-37 Haydenville, Ohio
Title, side A
Historic Haydenville
Title, side B
Haydenville Historic District
Text, side A
Originally known as Hocking Furnace, Haydenville was founded by and named for Columbus industrialist Peter Hayden (1806-1888), who energetically developed the coal, iron, sandstone, and fire clay deposits found in abundance in this area. Here he operated an iron furnace, coal mines and sandstone quarries, shipping products on the Hocking Canal and, later, the Hocking Valley Railroad he helped build. The incorporation of the Haydenville Mining and Manufacturing Company in 1882 initiated the manufacture of brick and ceramic tile from fire clay. Business boomed in the late 19th century as cities paved their streets with brick and fireproof construction became popular in the wake of widely publicized and tragic fires.
Text, side B
Architecturally unique in Ohio, Haydenville was built in several phases using its own readily available clay products. The buildings and houses incorporate a variety of different bricks, blocks, and tiles, making the entire town a catalog of the company's products. The brick homes on the east side of town date to the 1870s, while most the tile block homes were built in the 1880s and 1890s. Many boast imaginative details using sewer pipe, silo tiles, and paving blocks. Haydenville was sold to the National Fireproofing Company (Natco) in 1906 and remained company-owned until 1964, making it the last company town in Ohio. The Haydenville Historic District was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
Address
Haydenville Road/Twp Road 25
Haydenville, OH 43127
Location
Located at the entrance to Haydenville Park in town
Coordinates
Latitude: 39.479473, Longitude: -82.326675.
Google map: