Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Greene County / 28-29 Stevenson Road Covered Bridge [3]

  • Marker 28-29 setting Marker 28-29 setting
  • Marker 28-29 Marker 28-29
  • Stevenson Road Covered Bridge Stevenson Road Covered Bridge
Title, side A
Stevenson Road Covered Bridge
Text, side A
Built in 1877 and spanning approximately ninety-five feet, the Stevenson Road Covered Bridge carried vehicular traffic until 2003. It is one of the few Smith truss bridges left in the United States. The Smith Bridge Company manufactured the bridge using various patents of the company, which were secured by its founder, Robert W. Smith. The company originated in Tippecanoe City, Ohio (Tipp City) and later relocated to Toledo. In 1890 the Toledo Bridge Company Purchased the company from Smith. Robert Smith died in 1898 at the age of sixty-five leaving behind a legacy of unique covered bridges.
Address
Across the road near 1910 Stevenson Road
Xenia, OH 45385
Location
NW corner of Stevenson Road and Jones Road, at bridge.
Coordinates
Latitude: 39.734907, Longitude: -83.898777.
Google map: