Remarkable Ohio

Serpent Mound Marker

Home / Greene County / 27-29 Engle Mill Road Covered Bridge [1]

Title, side A
Engle Mill Road Covered Bridge
Title, side B
Engle Mill Road Covered Bridge
Text, side A
Built in 1877 and spanning 136 feet, the Engle Mill Road Covered Bridge carried vehicular traffic until 2003. The bridge is named after the nearby Levi Engle Mill. It is one of a few dozen Smith Truss bridges in the United States. The Smith Bridge Company manufactured the bridge using the Smith Truss patent, invented by founder, Robert W. Smith. The company originated in Tippecanoe City, Ohio and relocated to Toledo, where it was purchased by the Toledo Bridge Company in 1890. Smith died in 1898 at the age of 63, leaving a legacy of unique bridges.
Text, side B
Same as Side A
Address
Near 3420 Engle Mill Road
Xenia, OH 45385
Coordinates
Latitude: 39.584336, Longitude: -83.917361.
Google map: